Portfolio

Dear Reader,

Welcome to my portfolio, but before you go on to grade my paper, allow me to provide some background information in relation to my experience with the UWP class.

Coming into the UWP course, I really didn’t know what to expect from a first year college writing course. Before coming into the class, I thought I was a fairly strong writer with the ability to both organize and write a coherent piece. I wasn’t really aware of any glaring weaknesses in my writing, but I did know that I did make mistakes that ranged from simple grammar errors to going off on major tangents. The only real goal I had was to do well in the class and hopefully learn a few techniques that I could potentially be utilized in future writing endeavors.

At the beginning of the quarter, I defined good writing as a piece that was straightforward, precise, coherent, and varied its sentence structure. For the most part, my definition of “good writing” remains nearly the same; however, now I’m also taking into consideration for who the piece is being written and why it is written a certain way as part of the criteria for “good writing,” both of which were things taught during the quarter.  The knowledge gained from this course will be beneficial in writing pieces that are not only easy to understand, but also relevant in subject matter and take into consideration the limitations and word choice that comes with writing for a specific audience.

For this portfolio, I selected the rhetorical problem essay because I felt more confident in how I wrote that piece as opposed to the digital literacy narrative even though both works required heavy revisions and peer review. I really wasn’t sure how to write the digital literacy narrative, and I knew my topic for the problem essay right away and had at least some idea of how I wanted to write it. In addition, by the time I got to working on the assignment, I had already had some experience with the idea of audience, limitations, exignece, and explicitly stating purpose. In addition, this piece was much more formal in comparison to the narrative piece. This was probably, to some extent, the first experience in UWP of “professional writing.”

                In general, professional writing is vastly different from leisure writing in that it demands a certain level of both writing ability but also knowledge of the given subject as well as the audience for whom the piece is being written. In addition, it is important to write in a matter that is not only understandable in that it relays the topic effectively, but also is “understandable” in the more general sense that it is easy to follow and can be read by both an academic audience as well as a more broader, general audience. The essays in this portfolio employ a wider use of vocabulary as well as extensive knowledge of both the topic being discussed and also the rhetorical devices being employed.

The design, essay, and cover letter all give an idea for how I, as a writer, perform and also how I have improved through over the course of this class. I did enjoy the many things this class taught me and I hope the many techniques I learned and improvements I made in my writing are evident in this portfolio. Enjoy, and thank you for your time.

Sincerely,

Gabriel Seitaro Golub

Assignment #2 Rhetorical Problem Essay: https://gsgolubblog.wordpress.com/2013/12/07/underage-drinking-rethinking-the-solution/

Assignment #4 Rhetorical Analysis Essay: https://gsgolubblog.wordpress.com/2013/12/07/rhetorical-analysis-of-varying-writing-styles-in-regards-to-the-trend-of-increasing-tropical-storm-destructiveness/

Leave a Reply

